Vortex

It’s amazing to see just how much one can improve in the span of a couple of years. I recently found this old fractal in my files, and decided to update it to reflect my current skill level.

The mystery of the vortex has been in this piece right from the start though, and no amount of technical proficiency could have compensated for the lack of that. Revisiting the past reminds me of how magical the whole process felt back then. Being able to even create something at all, having complete control over this tiny universe within an editor. It was exhilarating, and my writings from that time reflect that breathlessness, the complete amazement at my newly found passion.

I’ve grown up a lot since then, but once thing I promise myself is to never lose that sense of childlike wonder. It’s the stuff life is made from.

  1. executivepagan
    February 3, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    This piece is lovely, but the original has its own charm as well – it looks like a set from a science fiction movie.

    • February 4, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      Yes, the part that was previously zoomed in has a different feel than the whole. Maybe I’ll create a slightly tweaked version that’s more true to the original, but keeps the improved coloring.

  2. February 4, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    It has been a wonderful experience just watching your growth over the past few years. Awe is what I feel every time that I see your newest works of art.

    • February 4, 2010 at 11:05 pm

      Thanks Patricia! I’m very thankful of your constant encouragement over that time 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

