Home > Fractal Art > If what you envision doesn’t exist, build it

If what you envision doesn’t exist, build it

Over most of this year, I’ve been buried in a cave creatively speaking, only coming out occasionally to let everyone know I’m still here. So what have I been doing all this time? I just finished building my very own fractal editor, which turned out to be a much bigger undertaking than I expected. But we’ve finally arrived at our 1.0 beta version. Looking back, all the effort put in has been worth it.

I wanted to have a tool for creating fractals that would be helpful rather than hindering, where the countless little details that go into design were done right. That tool didn’t exist, so I set out to build it. While the result is far from perfect, I dare say that it’s a good chunk closer than what I previously had to work with. I fully support the philosophy behind the open source movement, and contributing my own little drop into that ocean has been an immensely satisfying experience.


https://launchpad.net/fr0st/+download

Enjoy!

Categories: Fractal Art
  1. December 4, 2009 at 6:54 am

    Hey Vitor,

    I am certain I could not even fathom the effort that went into
    your creating this software.
    I admire you for setting a goal and the creation that has ensued.

    So I am guessing that this will be a work in progress, but selfishly
    I am hoping that you will be back on the creative fractal path. 😉

    CONGRATS to YOU VITOR !!!

    xo xo
    Deb

  2. December 5, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    I will always be making art in some form or another. Getting away from the creative side to devote myself to the tools themselves is actually a welcome break that refills my creative well.

    So yes, I will definitely picking up the pace a bit now that this phase has ended.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

