Home > Creativity, Inspiration, Thoughts > Passion or Balance?

Passion or Balance?

So-called insanity occasionally takes over my life, and I’m quite proud of that fact. One of the latest creative bursts I had involved Python swallowing me whole for a couple of weekends, capturing me with its intricacy until the break of dawn. While I don’t know exactly what will come out of my newfound ability to write hacky code, fractals have already been thrown into the mix – as a prime ingredient no less.

The point this ultimately brings me to is one of passion: Truly great things never happen without it. They don’t happen when there’s a clearly defined plan, when everything is laid out. They don’t happen at a relaxed pace, or even a 9-5 hectic one. No, what we need is something entirely different. Something which can’t be forced.

Letting my mind wander for no apparent purpose, having the opportunity to explore things I’m curious about (just because), gives me the chance to refill my creative well and let it spill out over all areas of my life. Even if its practical applications were not clear from the beginning, finally being able to program a bit is actually a childhood dream come true. Isn’t that what we life for, after all? And it might just be the secret to make things happen.

  1. July 4, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    A few years ago, I actually allowed myself to go back to college after about a 15 year absence. I didn’t go back to take serious classes. I went back to take a water aerobics class, an English writing class and two semesters of Drawing. I enjoyed all four classes. My love was in the Drawing classes. When I was a child, I drew a lot of things. As a young adult, I took an art appreciation class in college and loved it. In the 1990’s when I took the two drawing class, I fell in love with drawing all over again. We did mostly charcoal pencil drawings. For some of the classes we had a model sit for us. Those were fun. At the end of the first class semester, some of our work along with that of other art classes were chosen and displayed in an area art gallery for a few weeks. I offered three of my drawings up for evaluation. One was a drawing of five different pairs of shoes sitting on top of a laundry basket that I had turned upside down. That was my favorite drawing. I have it matted and on my living room wall. The other two were chosen by the teacher to go into the possible selections for the art gallery. Both of those were drawings of the model that sat for us. Those were the teacher’s favorite. None of my drawings made it to the gallery but my teacher said that they were in the last rounds of selection up against students who were who were mostly second year art students. I wasn’t a serious art student. I just took the classes because I wanted to see what kind of talent I had. I have always loved drawing people’s faces and landscapes and maps. Give me something to look at and I can usually draw it. I have been so blessed in this lifetime with several talents that I just haven’t had the time or real desire to do the work to develop them farther than they are. To my delight, I was in the top two grade-wise in both classes. That love of drawing is one of the things that draws me to the beauty and vastness of your art.

  2. July 4, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Patricia,

    What a fascinating story… you should seriousloy consider exploring further in that direction. Who knows? maybe you have a lot more potential in this area than you admit to yourself, adn exploring one’s own strenghts is always a great use of your time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

