Home > Creativity, Fractal Art, Inspiration, Purpose > Don’t let “it” stop you

Don’t let “it” stop you

“It” can be anything. It can be your own fear, your perception that what you’re doing is not right, that you somehow don’t hold up to the imaginary standard you set for yourself. Your energy is constantly expanding, but when you put the various “it”s of your life in the way, you will only block yourself.

There are several things I’ve had to clear out of the way lately: The idea that any and all of my images must be accompanied by “thoughtful and deep” words, thinking it’s ok for a completed image to remain unpublished just because I don’t feel like writing today, believing I don’t need to share what I do with the world, that I only do it for myself.

All these things have proven to be so wrong on so many levels. I can’t keep hiding behind this kind of “it”. I owe that much to my creative spirit. Just like most paradoxes in life, as soon as you face it head-on it has a tendency to resolve itself, to vanish into air. I don’t have to write content to pad this wonderful image I present to you, but curiously, I can’t help it from pouring out of me.

99% inspiration indeed.

  1. May 21, 2008 at 11:23 am

    This image is GORGEOUS!

    I was under the impression that images may communicate thousands of words. I’ve always envied visual artists that they don’t have to write…

    Your images speak for themselves.

  2. May 21, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Slade,

    I’ve always envied writers that they can create context so easily…
    But as I said in the post, I won’t let a lack of words stop me anymore. And trust me, I have a LOT of great images sitting around waiting to be published.

  3. May 21, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Vitor,

    I have more articles waiting in my feed reader than I may every get to. I’m sure many of them are great… But, these images are unique and in the sea of spiritually-motivated words, they are stand out even more.

    I say Put out what you got! I don’t need the words; the images don’t need the words. Maybe you don’t need the words as much as you think you should
    ?

  4. May 21, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Thank you for this image and for these words. So much of what I am reading today is speaking directly to my internal turmoil. Synchronicity is abounding today!

  5. May 21, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Slade,

    You’re absolutely right, and that’s what this post is all about… you can expect to see a little change of direction here soon.

    Angela,

    I’m glad this piece resonated with you. I was drawn to leave a comment on your blog earlier by that mysterious, ghastly image…

  6. May 22, 2008 at 11:40 am

    What an awesome work of art!! It is lofty, expansive, just inspiringly beautiful!

    I am reminded of cathedral stained glass providing structure for the many budding universes. Your art leaves me speechless! Very positive, and connected.

    …You remind me of an artist I know who workd in oil paints. When she is finished (essentially) with a work, she keeps going back to it and adding a little something more, a touch here and then a swipe there…as if the work can never be finished, never complete, not ready to stand in the gallery with the masterpieces. Your art does not need words to be complete, though your written art is also often striking.

    I am so grateful that I found your site! And so appreciative of your gifts and that you share yourself and your work. Keep it up and I echo your commentors, don’t let words (or lack of) slow you down or stop you! What you have is wonderful on it’s own.

  7. May 23, 2008 at 2:19 am

    Vitor, your art is always so awe-inspiring to me. Your words add more beautiful and are not absolutely necessary to the art. The art always speaks for itself and I enjoy your words as well but one does not necessarily need the other. Your words would also stand alone. You are very talented and I suspect a little tortured sometimes by that talent like the artist above who is never finished with her art.

  8. May 23, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Diane,

    It does resemble a cathedral interior in some ways. Also, I couldn’t agree more with the artistic perspective you describe. Specially in this digital age, it’s easier than ever to keep adding little touches to old work – without running the risk of spoiling anything.

    Patricia,

    Thanks, that’s what I’ve come to realize too… my art speaks for itself, and I am doing everyone a disservice by keepig it hidden.

  9. June 1, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Hi Vitor,

    I’m a spill-over from Slade’s blog … saw your comments there and decided to pop by. I have to say I’m absolutely impressed with your work – gosh, they’re GORGEOUS! Words do help to stimulate and suggest ideas sometimes, but don’t let that limit you, ever. Allow us to coax our own imaginations to fully appreciate your talents. 🙂

  10. June 1, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Irene,

    Thanks for the encouragement!

    I know from experience that no one just “pops by” from Slade’s blog. Check your inbox to appreciate the delicious syncrhonicity of it all! Sent you a message a minute before you left a comment here.

  11. June 1, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Vitor,

    You are so right about the “delicious synchronicity of it all”! This is so cool. 🙂

  1. June 18, 2008 at 8:07 pm

Leave a Reply

