Home > Compassion, Fractal Art, Inspiration, Purpose > We are Never Alone

We are Never Alone

The Goddess

I have always known – at a mental level – that there are divine aspects present in our lives, no matter how I specifically choose to perceive and name them. One or several forces, entities, things I can hardly describe in words that make sense, surround me at all times. Most of the time, however, I somehow manage to ignore this fact, living my life as if there was absolutely nothing special happening.

That changed somehow after watching one of Stephens latest video post about Ho’oponopono, which made me (re-)discover this fascinating concept (I don’t know how to pronounce it either!). It really hit me on a gut level that our own connection to divinity is not something we vaguely know to exist, but something that can be lived with every cell of our bodies, every moment. This connection is one of the most amazing gifts of this life – the ability to just let go of our pains and be filled with love and inspiration by just asking for it.

In my case, this connection to the divine manifests itself in the form of digital art, words, ideas; but it’s something different for every person. So what about you? Do you nurture this connection to the divine in your life? How does it express itself physically? I’d love to hear about your experiences in the comments.

  1. March 28, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Vitor: I just used one of your images on a post today, since you invited me to do so. πŸ™‚

    My connection with the divine is difficult to express simply in words, and to do so I usually have to “translate” into a particular paradigm. For instance, in a theistic paradigm I would say that “God is an ineluctable part of my reality”, but “God” is simply a placeholder for the divine mystery, so what I’m really saying is that the divine is intimately intertwined with my reality. Saying this doesn’t quite seem to get to the heart of the matter, though.

    Another way of getting at this is to express my general feeling that even when I lost my childhood faith in God, I continued to have the same strange relationship with reality that I had before – not believing in God was not enough to eliminate God from my world! Now, it seems to me that I did not lose faith in God, so much as I discarded a childish image of God and replaced it with a more subtle image of the divine – one which I am once again comfortable calling “God”, because surely no word can capture any of the deeper experience, so I might as well use a word that has more of a common usage!

    I’m not sure my connection with the divine manifests itself in any physical sense, though – it is a spiritual, emotional, intangible affair. But if there is an expression of the divine in my life, it must be in my words. Not all the words, all the sentences, perhaps, but there are times when the words flow from me as if from a deeper spring; times when I feel I am less an author and more of a channel for some deeper part of the grand interconnectedness of the universe. It is at times like this that I feel most deeply embedded within the divine mystery.

    And if that makes me sounds like a raving lunatic, then I shall smile and take this complement in a different spirit to that in which it was offered. πŸ˜‰

    Best wishes!

  2. March 28, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Chris,

    Raving Lunaticiscm opens doors to really cool things. It’s something to be proud of πŸ˜‰

    I know where you are coming from when you mention the need to translate something into a particular “language”, allowing you to refer to complex concepts with simple and universally understood words such as “god”, without losing all meaning in the process. Communication of personal, subjective experience across the gap of (even slightly) diverging beliefs is a tricky matter.

  3. March 28, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    Vitor:

    Thanks for the mention of Adversity University and the video post I did recently. I appreciate it! I’m glad that it reminded you to look into the concept of Ho’oponopono and how connected we really are to the Divine.

    I really like it because it truly gives us a chance to turn over to God what we can’t do for ourselves and that’s the clearing of the clutter deeply embedded within our subconscious mind. After all, God knows what’s in there, even if we don’t and only He can clear away the clutter down there.

    Thanks again Victor! Your artistry rocks! Beautiful images. Very divine. πŸ™‚

  4. March 31, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Stephen,

    Divine indeed πŸ˜‰

    There’s a lot of clutter within ourselves, makes us lose sight of what’s really important sometimes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

