Home > Creativity, Fractal Art, Thoughts > Building a Solid Foundation

Building a Solid Foundation

black & white

There’s something that can be said about the depth of shadows and style that come out in an image when you remove the clutter of too much bright coloration. Doing a black & white fractal like this once in a while really brings me back to the core of art.

I love complex, elaborate works (be they books, movies, games, images) but if the central expressive force can’t stand on its own, the rest is just wasted effort. I’ve been adjusting my own direction lately, and while my external projects might not seem to be moving along very fast, my internal structures are changing at an alarming rate, placing the foundation for great things to come.

This principle applies to everybody, all the time. You may think you have nothing going on right now, but there will always be a project of utmost importance on your plate: the unfolding of your own life, the creative expression of your soul. Don’t let it crumble under its own weight.

So how does your foundation look? Right now it may not make a difference, but a few years down the road it will be crystal clear what kind of heart your project had. Don’t confuse embelishment with good craft, don’t let your “creativity”, “vision” or “plans” get in the way of building solidly, from the ground up.

  1. March 15, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    The piece of art reminds me of the interconnectedness of all of us. Beautiful.

  2. March 16, 2008 at 2:35 am

    Your art creation is beautiful and also how you express foundations of creativity.

    Thank you for creating and sharing this art with us.

  3. March 17, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Patricia,

    Yes, it’s a structure that can’t exist without all its parts working together.

    Pat,

    You don’t have to thank me, knowing that you appeciate my work is more than enough for me 😉

  4. March 27, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Hey Vitor,

    I like the art, but your WORDS really ~grabbed me~.

    WONDERFUL words. I even saved the post
    to a Word document for personal inspiration. !!!

    xo xo
    Deb

  5. March 27, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Deb,

    That’s great, I’d love to hear more about how you can apply these principles to your life.

  6. May 3, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    I’m always astonished to see how you connect your visuals and your words. Keep building, you are on solid ground.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

