Home > Elementals, Fractal Art, Magic > Branching Reflections

Branching Reflections

dream.jpg

This is the twin sister of another recent piece. It’s funny how two fractals can be literally 15 seconds apart from one another and look so different. The fact that the computer colors and finishes an image in fractions of a second makes experimenting very worthwile. There is no price to making a mistake, and great opportunity lies within the chaos.

Fractals and I somehow just click – it’s like love at first sight. I don’t think I’ll be leaving this medium behind, ever. Maybe I’ll expand, try something new… but my first love in art will always be fractals, just like Tolkien will always be the first writer who really pulled me in deep. Speaking of which, Jeff has put up a great series on Tolkien, fiction and divination, a combo which you definitely don’t want to miss.

Categories: Elementals, Fractal Art, Magic
  1. March 1, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Vitor,

    This is sublime.

    Most of today I was feeling pretty low, and I was searching for something to do or read or listen to that would lift my spirits. This image did it – just looking at it is healing.

    Thanks for sharing your beautiful art with the world!

    -Sarah

  2. March 1, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Sarah,

    Thanks, that’s a wonderful compliment. You know, I only go looking for already existing parameters in a deep pool of chaos, so I think it’s more than appropriate to say that the soothing pulse emanating from this piece is somehow… alive. It’s not really me doing the healing, you know, I’m just the medium.

  3. March 3, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Hi Vitor,

    It’s stunning how the choice of color changes the whole feeling of
    your artwork.

    My very first thought was..

    “A whale’s eye view”. :))))

    You’ve heard the term…’bird’s eye view’.

    I have no clue IF whale’s even see in color, but I am guessing
    if they do, this would be their view. I love this, it’s SO peaceful.

    xo xo
    Deb

  4. March 3, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Deb,

    An underwater view… what a beautiful analogy. I was thinking more of a dream, but perhaps it’s a whale’s dream 😉

  5. March 6, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Vitor,

    I get the “I’m just the medium” thing. I write, and when I write I am consciously creating a story or a poem. Then I tend to be critical of the work.

    But sometimes, words come through me, and they are complete in themselves, whole, and above my judgement. That’s when I am the medium, and I am concentrating on being the best medium, the best vessel, possible for when that does happen.

    Being a good medium is a challenge, so you still deserve the compliment! 🙂

    By the way, have you considered making these available to download as desktop backrounds? All my shortcut icons would love to float around on these gorgeous images.

    -Sarah

  6. March 6, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Sarah,

    I know the kind of writing you mean, something like the new post I’ve just put up.

    Wallpapers are coming soon… that’s a promise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

