Home > Creativity, Fractal Art, Inspiration, Magic, Purpose, Symbols > The Second Half of Art

The Second Half of Art

I have always said that creating art is only the first half of the work, half its significance. The other part, the one that completes the piece, makes it come full circle and gives it meaning, is the act of observation.

This was made very clear to me recently, when Deb left a comment in one of my latest posts to tell me how I had moved her to open up and start listening to her artistic inspiration. Barely knowing me, she told me of a vision that struck her, an interpretation I had never intended but which was nevertheless very powerful – in a way relevant to her and her unique viewpoint.

A particular image, just like the fractal it’s composed of, can replicate infinitely to present a unique and personalized version of itself to each of its viewers, sometimes meaningless, sometimes deeply transforming. My own perspective is only one among many, and with that realization, all I can do is take a step back and let my art speak for itself, allowing it to unfold and reach its fullest potential – without being hampered by the constraints of my particular interpretation.

In that spirit, today’s piece doesn’t come with an introduction. Instead, I’ll let you decide what to make of it, how to complete the puzzle that brings something deeper to this mere collection of colored dots. I must say that I am deeply grateful to you, for you have given my art a breath of life, and by doing that, turned into an artist yourself. I’d love to hear about your interpretation in the comments, if you feel like sharing it.

untitled.jpg

  1. February 11, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Very eloquently stated

  2. February 12, 2008 at 2:42 am

    Vitor, I see musical notes vibrating though the air and also a bird of prey with wings and talons outstretched. I see power and passion and softness. I see dark and light.

    That is what I like about your art. I can let my imagination flow.

    I actually followed Deb’s lead from last week. Last night I played with the paint function on my computer. I didn’t know what all the functions did and I had fun anyway, just playing with the colors and movements across the screen.

  3. February 12, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Sarah,

    Thanks.

    Patricia,

    Great interpretation. I also used to express my creative urges in silly ways, including MS paint and doodling on random scraps of paper, without giving it a second thought. It was only much later that it ocurred to me to actually do it “for real”.

  4. debnohio
    February 12, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Beautifully said Vitor.

    Ya know, our life experiences cause each and every one of us to filter and interpret things differently. I’ll be interested to see what you, the original artist had intended
    for this piece. 🙂

    Sometimes when I view art I have a story develop and other times I have
    a sense or a feeling. This piece brings me a story……

    Today, a dear online friend sends her daughter, ‘V’ off to the Air Force. With that in mind, I see a Mother full of pride and patriotism, represented by the colors of the US flag red, white and blue. Sending not only a Mother’s love towards her child leaving home, but the Spirit of patriotism too.

    Hmmmmm I think I’m going to have to direct Lea here so I can let her
    have a peak for herself.

    Here’s a link to Lea’s site –
    http://thoughtsandothersmartalecremarks.blogspot.com/2008/02/hall-walking.html

    xo xo
    Deb

  5. Diane
    February 12, 2008 at 11:38 am

    I really love your art. I am fascinated by the movement – the flow of the colors. The one you labelled phoenix – that is what I saw.
    What came to mind first was “Surprise”. The colors are soft and gentle, calming to me. The movement is also soft and feathery. Rather than a bird of prey, I see a hummingbird. Then I see several echoes of hummingbirds, like ripples on the water surface and a folding movement, like the motion of the yoga pose called child pose.
    This piece has more light, is more open and receptive than the ones you have done with black backgrounds.
    The more aI look at it, the more I see and feel.
    And yes, now I feel inspired too.

    ~Diane

  6. February 12, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Deb,

    It represents a certain kind of connection of spirit for me too. Totally matches the situation you describe.

  7. February 12, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Diane,

    A humming bird – the hummingbird – opening its beauty to the world. Beautiful metaphor. Glad to have been of inspiration.

  8. February 12, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Ooooh, I want to play, too. Vitor, this was a really wonderful invitation – to ask us to offer our own interpretations. It made me look a lot harder and deeper.

    To me, this is the Universe folding in on itself to that “zero point” that is its origin – and at the same time contained in every single aspect of itself, every being, every part of existence.

    Pretty cool stuff!
    Blessings,
    Andrea

  9. February 12, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Andrea,

    Fascinating that you thought of that, it’s the reasons I have always found fractals so interesting in the first place. But does it fold or unfold at that point, or perhaps both?

  10. Lea
    February 12, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Thank you Vitor and Deb for a beautiful interpretation on this lovely work of art.
    My child, my own personal work of art, and the arms that opened and released her to her brilliant future today is some of what I see in this piece.
    I also see the opening ‘arms’ as wings that can be sheltering and protecting, as Divine Spirit. Hmm, noticing so many of them too. That’s a comforting thought. Many spirits, of ancestors and decendants and Divinities…. all watching my girl.
    Oh, and lots of V’s too!
    Much thanks,
    Lea

  11. February 12, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Lea,

    thanks for sharing, it’s obvious that this is a very personal subject to you. My best wishes for you and your family.

  12. Barbara
    February 14, 2008 at 3:51 am

    Hi Vitor,

    Almost irresistible to not send an interpretation. This is so vivdly about music for me. Piano keys and their resonance or sound waves traveling on vibrations of energy Clear notes hitting water as the clean sky above, with its still blues and pinks are evident as early dusk starts to settle and bring darkness. I could go on and on. Nice way to spend this time, activating and inviting what inspires. Thank you, Vitor.

  13. February 14, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Barbara,

    There is a lot of rhytm to this piece, the way it seems to flow and move. The concept of music fits in perfectly, but I hadn’t thought of it before. Thanks for the comment.

  14. February 14, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Dragons…

    Their positioning seems to suggest that they’re flying away, or perhaps they’re at the top of a steep climb, about to dive down before they stall.

    There’s no violence from the dragons… Rather, I see it trying to get away from violence, to protect itself. It’s a suddenly lost sense of security, but not an unexpected loss, and it doesn’t remove a sense of inner peace.

  15. February 14, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Adam,

    Very perceptive. There’s indeed a sense of built up tension about to be released in the image. I’ve always been fascinated by dragons, by the way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

