Phoenix

Don’t think that fractal art has anything to do with sitting down and creating a piece all by myself. My workflow is better described by the process of finding a combination of pseudo-random parameters that speak to my imagination and tweaking them into a presentable expression.

However, in spite of this seeming randomness, I’m never surprised to see the same themes emerge time and time again. The essence of a concept often seems to find its way into my image by its own will, instead of being depicted deliberately.

An old mythological friend of mine is visiting more frecuently these days, even though I wasn’t particularly looking for him. Of course he’s “just” a symbol, representing something that supposedly doesn’t exist in the physical sense, but let me point out that magic only appears in your life once you start believing in it.

Imagination to image to reality. Might that be the lesson he carries?

flaming-phoenix.png

  1. February 2, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Good God, Vitor, that’s gorgeous. Have you ever considered printing these out and using them as oracle cards of some sort?

  2. February 2, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Vitor, I Stumbled this as Art and said your art is magic.

  3. February 2, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Thalia,

    Hmm… a fractal tarot. I have been playing around with the idea of publishing my work in some form or another, could be a good idea. I think I’ll have to let the thought mature a bit, though.

    Patricia,

    I saw it earlier today, that’s the highest praise You could give me šŸ˜‰

  4. February 7, 2008 at 6:08 am

    “However, in spite of this seeming randomness, Iā€™m never surprised to see the same themes emerge time and time again”
    I can honestly say that I have experienced this too!

  5. February 7, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    Sham,

    Endlessly repeating patterns expressing a single idea in slightly different variations. The history of humans is riddled with this kind of conceptual fractal.

    Would love to hear your story about this.

  6. February 9, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Great post.
    Love the picture. It’s really cool.

  7. February 20, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Vitor,

    Your work is astonishing! I am so glad that I followed the links to it. I would love to have this image as a desktop for my work computer to remind me that I can be reborn as the phoenix if I choose to die to my old ways. Fitting, as I am contemplating changing careers.

  8. February 21, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Angela,

    It’s already finding its way to you through virtual skies.

  1. May 15, 2008 at 8:31 am
  2. July 5, 2009 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

