Home > Creativity, Inspiration > Seven Random and Weird Things

Seven Random and Weird Things

I got tagged by Patricia with this meme quite a while ago. The rules are simple:

1. Link to the person’s blog who tagged you.
2. Post these rules on your blog.
3. List seven random and or weird facts about yourself.
4. Tag seven random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.
5. Let each person know that they have been tagged by posting a comment on their blog.

I will be skipping 4 and 5, considering that I’m quite late to join and there’s no one left I’d like to tag, thanks to Slade and his “7” people 😉

Anyway, here are my seven things, in no particular order:

1. I have a weakness for blogging, and I also happen to love cats. I can normally get away with it relatively undetected, being an eccentric artist and all, but I just couldn’t resist this meme, despite it being a little off-topic. Other responses I’ve seen so far have been great, and I’ll second the thought that infusing a blog with some actual humanity can only be a good thing. Someday, I’ll even blog about my actual cats (there are many of them, so be prepared!)

2. It’s currently over 30ºC outside, which is nothing surprising considering it’s summer down here in the southern hemisphere.

3. I have an exceptionally high IQ. My ego tells me this is really important, though I don’t really listen to him all that much. Anyway, from early childhood I was always fascinated by mundane objects that border on the metaphysical, and was driven to quiestion their very nature. Automatic doors, electrical circuits and mirrors, specially, always gave me the impression of revealing the deepest secrets of this world. More on this in a not so distant blog post.

4. When I was 18, a lot of people thought I was 22. Now that I actually am that age, people tend to guess around 27.

5. I speak 3 languages: native tongue (german), that of my country of residence (spanish) and english (of course). it’s curious that speaking multiple languages actually deepens one’s understanding of each of them. The superficial shapes one perceives normally start to give way, revealing the underlying structure of a given language from the perspective of another. Languages are truly marvelous human inventions.

6. Being creative in an artistic way runs in the family. In fact, my brother’s band recorded their first song just a while ago. I’ve said it elsewhere and will say it again and again: You’re an artist as soon as you start considering yourself one. So congrats to my brother, who has the guts to go out into the world and chase his dreams.

7. I don’t eat meat. Not because I have anything against it in principle, but because I just stopped liking it. I still eat plenty of fish. More on the philosophical debate behind this at some later time, go read this article by Kenton in the meantime.

There are a lot of random things I thought of, but since this post had to be capped at 7, I think I’ll be sneaking them into my future posts, one little piece of randomness at a time. Looking back over my archive, some my older entries feel a bit lifeless, missing a certain spark I have always professed to have. It’s all about that spark – true human interaction – not just people throwing words at one another. Anyway, if you are reading this and haven’t done the meme by any chance, please be my guest and let me know about it.

Categories: Creativity, Inspiration
  1. January 26, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Vitor, glad you did this. We have several things in common. I love cats too, even though I seem to have gotten allergic to them as I have gotten older. An hour in the same room with one and I have to take a Benedril for itching. I love their independent personality. Humans own dogs but we are the ones owned by our cats.

    Congratulations to your brother and his band on their first song. That can be a tough business to get into.

    All day today, we barely got out of the 30’s but that is 30 degrees F. which is close to 0 degrees C. Yours sounds much better. We had sleet and some ice in parts of Arkansas today. Hot Springs had over 20 auto accidents this morning because of the slippery roads.

    This meme has been a fun way to get to know each other.

  2. January 26, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Patricia,

    I agree, it has been great. And don’t worry, the cold will soon pass, and then I’ll be the one wishing to be over on you side of the equator.

  3. January 26, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Vitor,

    I’m a cat person too!

  4. January 26, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Slade,

    I didn’t know that. See? One random thing at a time.

  5. January 26, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Hi Vitor,

    I’m thrilled you participated in this meme, too! Incidentally, my native language is German, too. However, I cannot imagine expressing anything of a metaphysical nature in that language … I’d love to know, do you write in English because it is more universal as a blogging language, or because you find it’s the language that most lends itself to your work?

    I know a few Germans here, and when we want to talk of spiritual or metaphysical matters, we all revert to English …

    Blessings,
    Andrea

  6. January 27, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Andrea,

    That’s a vry intetresting point you bring up. I believe that the language I use shapes my world vision to a certain degree, because of how I have to formulate certain ideas.

    I love german as a poetic language. Spanish is very poetic too, but in a totally different way.

    I chose english due to it’s universality, mainly because all the great bloggers I’ve come to know are writing in this language. But with time I’ve come to realize that there is a conciseness, precision and depth of meaning in each english sentence that can be very hard to replicate in any other language.

  7. February 4, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Just want to make this grave statement: Ï’m a cat person, too. And I’m very fond of my human kittens, so grown up and audacious. Love, mom.

  1. January 26, 2008 at 2:48 pm
  2. November 15, 2008 at 11:00 am

Leave a Reply

