Contrast

Making a fractal can often be a painstakingly deliberate way of creating art. The math’s right there in front of me, and even if it’s not evident most of the time, I have absolute control of what’s going on in my images. That makes it all the rarer to just fire up apo and see a really intriguing flame staring right back at me whispering to my imagination, one that is already beautiful and malleable enough to make me want to shape it into something unique, even if it’s not up to the ficticious standards of my latest self-declared masterpiece.

This sort of ocurrence has been more frequent lately, but maybe it’s just because I have been looking more closely. I can’t stress enough how important experimentation is – when you just go where your ideas lead you, you will always end up somewhere interesting. Sometimes it’s a bold journey into the unknown, but mostly, it’s just about seeing potential in the unremarkable – finding the extra within the ordinary.

Today’s mood is black and white, an image gaining a crisp force of expression through the simplicity of its tones.

black-and-white-fractal.jpg

  1. debnohio
    February 7, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    I see a beautiful glowing 4 leaf clover….

    There’s an old song I had to go hunt up the lyrics to….

    I’M LOOKING OVER A FOUR-LEAF CLOVER
    Art Mooney

    Words by Mort Dixon, music by Harry Woods
    Written in 1927 – popularized in 1948 by Art Mooney

    I’m looking over a four-leaf clover
    That I overlooked before.
    One leaf is sunshine, the second is rain,
    Third is the roses that grow in the lane.
    No need explaining, the one remaining
    Is somebody I adore.
    I’m looking over a four-leaf clover
    That I overlooked before

  2. February 8, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Beautiful, Deb.

  3. February 17, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    It looks like an x-ray of a cross-section of bone. I know this is kind of an older post, but as a blogger myself I’m sure you don’t mind my commenting on an old post. 🙂

    I’ve been playing a bit lately with the fractal prgram I found (SpangFract, for the Mac), and I’m continually amazed by how even the most abstract fractals inevitably remind me of something from the natural world. Usually, either the microscopic, like cells, bone structure, blood vessels, neurons, or the macroscopic, the huge and infinite, like star clusters or galaxies. Which I guess is because with fractals, it’s the same thing. Because a piece of a fractal is exactly the same as the whole of a fractal, and because infinity comes in both infinitely small and infinitely large.

    I am absolutely fascinated by the fact that you can just keep zooming and zooming in on them and watch more and more of it unfold. It is looking into the infinite.

    I said once before to you that it’s like looking into the mind of God, or, I suppose, as a good Pagan, I should say Goddess, and today while playing with the program I thought of this bit from the Orphic Hymn to Nature:

    Your pure mind full of seeds
    gives crowds of stars and flowers
    creating worlds streaming
    to receding horizons.

  4. February 19, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Thalia,

    Those are beautiful lines.

    I also tend to see the same patterns in fractals. Usually I try do something “abstract”, and before I know it, there is something staring back at me. The chaos almost seems to be alive…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

