Home > Creativity, Inspiration > Connecting to Myself

Connecting to Myself

I have hardly taken any time to think about the implications of this blog. When I was first exposed to some of Slade’s ideas, I got a tingling sensation that this medium was somehow for me. I didn’t know what my content was going to be, or what I was supposed to be standing for, but I just had to do it.

And now here I am, and I have finally found the reason. My two passions – fire and water – are beginning to combine, creating the unique alchemical mix I call my art

fire-and-water.png

Fire – seeing the structure of reality through abstract, conceptual ideas. Matter that can be transformed through perception.

Water – feeling the softer elements of human existence. Flowing energy leading to connection and life. Inspiration, creativity, imagination.

All of this is possible thanks to the individuals who created and contributed to the open source program Apophysis, in which I create the fractal flames you can find around these pages.

Recent history has brought incredible technological advancements to us. The efforts of many, faceless and meaningless when each on his own, are merging to create something vital – Access. The connection to everything has never been easier, more direct. Our old, clunky social structures are quickly fading away, being replaced by a medium that is much faster for thoughts to travel, for bringing people together – not locally, but universally.

I don’t know if the people that created this new art form share my motivations, if they see the grand nature of their task, but thanks to access (that magical word again), it doesn’t matter. The idea spread anyway, reaching me just at the right moment, giving a part of my soul that had been hiding deep inside a way to express itself, to send its tiny sparks into the world.

And for that, I am grateful.

This post is being submitted to Nneka’s season of gratitude. I’m not from the US but I did like the meme, so I am joining in anyway.

Categories: Creativity, Inspiration
  1. November 18, 2007 at 3:16 am

    I am in awe of your art work. It seems to speak to me. I just don’t have the words to tell you what they are saying. There is such movement in your art. You have a fantastic sense for using colors.

  2. November 18, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Thanks, I’ve been learning along the way. It does help a lot that my chosen medium makes it easy to play around with many options before commiting.

    I’ve often had flames sitting around on my hard drive for weeks because something just felt “off” somehow, and eventually a little playing with the colors does the trick.

  3. November 18, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    Vitor,

    A huge compliment to me and an affirmation of my own blogging that I contributed to your motivation to act.

    Many of my Blog Marketing Clients have written to me about their hesitation to begin — of course all the usual procrastination suspects weigh in, but the waiting seems to come more from an unrealistic expectation of perfectionism than even fear.

    It makes perfect sense to me that you discover more and more about where your publication is going after you create a pattern of action and follow through. The greatest mistake anyone thinking about publishing or blogging could make is believing that they must “figure it all out” before starting.

    Sharing your journey AS you “figure it out” is a powerful and authentic process in and of itself. Keep seeking and sharing what you discover — RE-cover — about who you are as an artist. With every artist I’ve ever known, I find the sketchbooks and the studio space as fascinating as the finished pieces and the final shows…

  4. November 18, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    Slade,

    Yes, your writings have made a huge impact for me… I started out without much of a clue, but I continued on this new path anyway. After a while, I started seeing a pattern repeating itself over and over. People were actually being inspired by my fractals, my art! This is my unique contribution.

    Starting to consider myself as a true artist was the biggest leap of faith I’ve ever taken, but ultimately, I was already fitting the definition before I recognized the label as my own. Finally, it all comes down to knowing yourself, uncovering the deepoest layers of who you are, and having the courage of showing that to the world.

  5. December 3, 2007 at 4:13 am

    That last paragraph is full of insight, and it just changed the picture I had of myself as a creative being (or not so creative, so I thought). We’re often ashamed of what we come up with even before we had the chance to bring a particular piece out of our mind and into being. Scratch that. I can only talk for myself, so: I am often ashamed etc.

    With that being said, let me link to my bands myspace site. I don’t know wether you’ve heard our song already or not, dear brother.

    http://www.myspace.com/dystera

  6. December 3, 2007 at 6:03 am

    Brother,

    How can we be anything but creative? We just can’t help it. Those of us who call ourselves artists just choose to embrace it instead of burying it under self-criticism.

    I haven’t heard your song, let me fix that asap.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

