Home > Inspiration, Purpose > A World of Twilight

A World of Twilight

Why do we live between light and darkness? We exist only in twilight, where shadows follow our every step, withdrawing and hiding when the sun is high, but returning to haunt us in the dark hours of night. A cruel dance, repeating itself each and every day, from the beginning of humankind.

But, how can we escape these circumstances?

Don’t we choose our own way, going for one side or the other, just like Luke Skywalker? I asked myself that question for a long time, but I was clinging to a wrong concept – I considered light and darkness as separate entities. Both of them are actually connected, the light creating the darkness, which in turn absorbs it, generating an eternal flow of creative energy. These are not opposing forces, because the darkness doesn’t have a body of it’s own through which it could oppose the light. It is just a hollow reflection, an echo. It is where the light extinguishes itself to renew its potential of creation.

Everything we see in this reality has its shadow. To see, we need light. It is a fact of life. Perhaps we should discard the idea that we can live in a perfect world of pure light, that we can ignore the shadows projecting around us. They are an essential part of the light; without them, there would be no contrast, no manifestation. When I reach towards light, I respect the darkness created through that act.

The shadow doesn’t have an existence or justification of its own, but it is a necessary part of balance. The sewage systems complement the abundance of the rain, preventing us from being flooded. I won’t struggle against this fact – instead I’ll just live on this imperfect world as it is. All events are following their natural course, and there is nothing to fear. This place is our paradise, after all.

I’ve stopped running from my own shadow. I got tired of having it stepping on my heels every time I tried to escape. No matter how fast I ran, I couldn’t separate myself a single inch from it. But now, I’m ready to accept it fully. I look at the light, and feel the darkness. In twilight, I manifest perfectly. My existence is human and imperfect, just as it should be.

But even so, I won’t lose my way.

The light will guide me

Always.

Categories: Inspiration, Purpose Tags:
  1. October 21, 2007 at 10:37 am

    Beautiful world, but I disagree with the “imperfect” world. We do live in a “perfect” world. Things and people are always exactly as they should be. Good and bad don’t really exist. They are just our judgments that keep us stuck on the merry go round of life and karma. I just read that each time we make a judgment against someone else, we add that judgment to our own selves. This is my number one trait that I keep working on and failing at which in itself is a judgment of me by me.

    I have always loved the blackness of a dark night. I was probably about 7 years old, when I took on someone else’s fear of the night. Take a walk on a really dark night and feel yourself wrapped in the darkness. I love walking with a full moon also. Absolutely glorious. Have you ever seen a blackness that was so black that it hurt your eyes because you could sense all of the light that the black had absorbed?

    I will subscribe to this blog and look forward to reading more of your wonderful words. You are an artist in more than your artwork. You are an artist also with the way you paint pictures with your words. I am blessed to know you.

  2. October 21, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Patricia,

    Wow, that is high praise indeed!

    I absolutely agree with you on the imperfect part. The concept I’m trying to express is just very hard to put into language. It can’t be easily categorized, and words are all about drawing little boxes around things and putting labels on them.

    Oh, and I definitely know what kind of blackness you’re talking about – more of this in a future post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

