Home > Thoughts > Loser’s Guide to Manifesting

Loser’s Guide to Manifesting

Are you having trouble manifesting your desires? Do you repeatedly fail at making your dreams come true? Is holding a positive intention for any period of time beyond your ability to focus?

It is said that your intentions should always be positively formulated, considering that the Universe, or God, or whatever you choose to call it, only takes the power of your words into account, and not the context and logical operators surrounding them. Jeff Lilly of DruidJournal has written an excellent piece about it here.

You probably knew this already though… you’re trying to succeed at fulfilling all of the above conditions, but you just can’t make it happen! Behind the pretty words, your evident skepticism of the whole affair shines through.

How can you overcome this contradiction?

Maybe you’re so desperate that you spent the last 3 months doing nothing but holding the intention of becoming better at manifesting, but still to no avail. Constant failure is probably not the best way to reinforce your belief in this messy model.

What to do?

Take the following example of a ‘regular’ intention:

“I am becoming filthy rich”

That’s positive, timeless and specific. An inverted version of that intention might look like this:

“I won’t have to declare bankruptcy”

In this case, after taking out the logical operators and tense, the true intention reads:

“I am declaring bankruptcy”

Of course you wouldn’t exactly be thrilled at the result if you actually tried holding that last intention. But even knowing this and consciously formulating every intention in a ‘correct’ way is impossible for you because you are unable to truly suspend your disbelief about it. You turn “I am becoming filthy rich” into “I wish I was filthy rich, if I ever deserve it someday… or maybe not, I don’t really know”.

So, we need to find you an intention which fits neatly into your current belief structure, but at the same time leads to the desired result. Fear not! I have the perfect solution for you.

Inverse negative manifestation

Let me clarify a point here: I am not a professional, so take all of this with a grain of salt. If you’re actually considering applying what you’re about to read here, you should think about it a bit first, or perhaps wait for the mushroom-induced hallucinations to wear off, or whatever.

The premise is very simple: in order to negate your own disbelief about a given intention while avoiding the pitfalls of getting what you DON’T want, you just need to switch over from holding bad intentions positively, to hold good intentions negatively:

“I am not becoming filthy rich”

“No way am I getting out of debt”

See what I’m pointing at? You’ve just formulated your intention in a way that doesn’t challenge your model of reality at all by being cohesive with your everyday experience, while at the same time invoking the power of spirit to obtain your exact goal. It should be an easy and perfect solution, shouldn’t it?

It’s not that simple, I think. I can’t really explain why, but it just sounds too bizarre to be true. But considering that the universe is a mathematical construct after all, it would perfectly make sense if this technique actually worked. Stranger things have happened.

However, in order to actually make use of it, you would have to be capable of holding a negative formulation with a positive intention behind it, believing that you will utterly fail and succeed at the same time.

Immerse yourself deeply in the paradox

The more we get into this whole process and examine all the details of it, the more absurd it all starts to sound… probably because it is.

Lately I have been getting a vague feeling that this whole ‘Universe’ thing is actually not as solid and real as it looks, not just from some new agey /subjective reality point of view, but on a more fundamental level; there’s a primordial incongruence if you will, an utter inability to even begin to grasp the truth without going completely mad in the process.

The strangest thing, however, is that in spite of all this (or perhaps thanks to it?), I have found a way of living where it doesn’t really matter anymore. I don’t need to ‘get’ it in order to live joyfully, I’m just childishly curious about this supposed ‘reality’. Anyway, if you have any insights to share, please do so by leaving a comment or contacting me directly.

Conclusion

It’s time to truly realize the silliness of all this effort in trying to manifest so desperately. Only by going beyond logic and ceasing to adjust our acts to fit what we think we ought to be doing, we’re able to really begin to experience what this life is really about. Forget about manifesting; you only need to examine the underlying perceptions and beliefs creating your suffering, so you can stop focusing all your efforts on these magical solutions that are supposed to ‘fix’ you, and start living in a way where no more conscious manifestation is needed.

Yes, true happiness and the perfect life you’ve always wanted are within reach of your fingertips. There is nothing left to manifest, because everything you could possibly desire, already exists. Manifestation is not something you do; it’s a natural consequence of you existing. It’s time to stop looking, and time to start finding instead.

You’ll be surprised how easy it is!

Categories: Thoughts Tags: ,
  1. September 3, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    I agree with your conclusion. Anything that you “try to do” “desperately”, you will fail at. “Trying” is doubting that you will succeed. Slade Roberson taught me that. Doing anything out of desperation is too needy which is what the Universe will help you continue to feel. I look forward to reading more of your articles.

  2. September 3, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Patricia,

    Exactly… that’s why I titled it “The Loser’s guide…”. By even thinking there are winners and losers, you have already lost.

  3. September 5, 2007 at 6:04 am

    Vitor, — addressing the issue about ‘inverse negative manifestation’ — my understanding and experience with manifestation is that the emotion you harbor is considerably more important than your belief. My first successes with manifestation occurred when I generated a very simple burst of intense gratitude. I remember once I was getting ready to leave an airport parking lot, and had to pay for parking, and I realized that I had no idea how much it would cost, or how much money was in my pocket! As I drove up to the payment window, I said to myself, I am SO GRATEFUL I have enough to pay this! And I generated the emotion, too — strong gratitude and joy. And the amount in my wallet was EXACTLY the amount necessary to pay the man.

    So if you can generate a joyful, grateful emotion around “I am not becoming filthy rich!”, and vividly imagine those riches you’re so glad not to be getting, you may well win the lottery. 🙂

  4. September 5, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Jeff,

    That’s exactly what I’m trying to say. Creating positive emotion while using a paradox to override your mind’s logical filters (your inner critic) might just be the most effective way to get what you want!

    We have to be careful, however. Manifesting is nothing more but a game, a spell you cast to bend reality around you… it definitely has limits. KL’s post today explains this excellently:

    http://www.klmasina.co.nz/2007/09/05/forget-manifestation-its-time-to-embrace-surrender/

  5. February 7, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Vitor I dig what you’re saying here.
    Let’s talk some time..my ideas are here http://canweevolvenow.wordpress.com/
    Thanks.
    DBA Lou

  6. February 7, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Lou,

    We’re already talking… through these wonderful tools commonly called blogs 😉

    Just coming back from your site, quite refreshing viewpoint. I love it when ideas are taken to their pure, abstract extremes. Food for thought.

    Vitor

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

